the london book fair
11–13 March 2025
Olympia London

International Excellence Awards 2023 (IEAs)


Back for another year, these awards celebrate publishing success through a number of categories; from our Inclusivity in Publishing award to our newly created Sustainability Initiative award, the IEAs are given to companies and individuals across sectors and around the world. 


Applications are now closed for the 2023 International Excellence Awards.

International Excellence Awards Criteria 2023

Criteria: Companies who have contributed to audiobook publishing and have demonstrated innovation in the area, whose publication has created a significant impact, resulting in critical acclaim, high sales, and PR coverage, or have demonstrated a new business model or business innovation. Judges will be looking for high quality and excellence in the publishing programme.

Who is eligible? Any company or division of a global company, specialist company division, or organisation, including retailers whose scope of achievement is predominantly outside the UK.

Criteria: Publishing companies who have demonstrated commitment to improving diversity across the publishing ecosystem. This includes diversity in content produced, marketing strategy and activity to reach diverse audiences (including working with festivals, bookshops and libraries), and commitment to improvement of equality in the workforce (including disabilities, socio-economic, ethnicity, LGBT, cultural and racial equality).

Who is eligible? Any publishing company based in the UK.

Criteria: The judges will be looking for excellence in a range of areas, including customer service, staff knowledge, events, display, outreach, atmosphere, innovation, imagination, incorporation of digital, style and flair.

Who is eligible? Independents or chain branches whose primary business is outside the UK. Nominees do not have to be English language booksellers – though these are welcome too – and there is no stipulation regarding turnover. Business viability will be recognised, and entries from more remote locations are encouraged. If you are a chain applying, please ensure that you nominate one branch specifically.

Criteria: Organisations that have succeeded in raising the profile of literature in translation, promoting literary translators, and encouraging new translators and translated works.

Who is eligible? Any company or organisation operating outside the UK whose scope of achievement is outside the UK.

Criteria: The judges will be looking for excellence in a range of areas, including the library as an inspirational and democratic space for all; innovative partnerships and initiatives to attract new users and extend the range of services provided; stock promotion and the use of new technology to engage users in library collections; the response to the climate change agenda; and examples of the library’s contribution to literacy and learning in its community.

Who is eligible? Any public library operating outside the UK.

Criteria: The judges will look for evidence of how the company’s sustainability plan has directly or indirectly led to improved environmental impact, social sustainability, cost reduction and waste in an integrated way in the publishing industry.  

Who is eligible? All companies involved in publishing operating worldwide who have demonstrated commitment to improving sustainability and working towards achieving net zero across the publishing ecosystem.